Chamber Music At Nantwen, Pembrokeshire

Periodically we host small concerts at Nantwen as part of our ‘Ssh, we’re a secret’ series.  Our concerts often sell out so please sign up to our concert mailing list  to be first in line for tickets. 

Archive Concerts…

August 2017

On the 12th of August 2017 we welcomed The Orchestra Of The Age of Enlightenment to Nantwen for an intimate concert.

Principal players from the orchestra performed a quartet by Beethoven…

The year is 1809, and Napoleon is bombing the heck out of Vienna. While his friends are busy fleeing the city, a surly Beethoven holes up in his brother’s basement and complains about the noise. Losing his hearing, friends and money, he writes music that reflects his mood – increasingly heavy, dark, and insecure.

In this concert from the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, hear Beethoven’s String Quartet No.11, Serioso, performed on the instruments Beethoven wrote it for. It’s typical of what Beethoven experts call his ‘middle period’ – dense, erratic and experimental.

And before that, the four musicians will take you through what (musically speaking) brought Beethoven to that point – Bach, Haydn and Mozart, some music that OAE leader Matthew Truscott describes as ‘heavy stuff’. Also hear a new piece by Satoko Doi-Luck, commissioned by the OAE to accompany the Beethoven Quartet.

Full Programme was….

Bach Contrapunctus XIX from Art of Fugue
Haydn String Quartet in D minor, Op103
Satoko Doi-Luck disperatamente!
Mozart Fourth movement (molto allegro) from String Quartet No 14, K387
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No 11, Op 95, Serioso

Leading players from the orchestra of age of enlightenment: Violinsits, Matthew Truscott and Julia Kuhn are joined by Viola player Simone Jandl and Cellist Luise Buchberger


August 2017

We welcomed Francesca Barritt Violin, Lisa Obert Violin, Steve Doman Viola, for an evening of  Music by Dvorak and Kodaly with delicious cake too. These three players from London visit Nantwen to tutor on our popular Chamber Music course.  In this concert of music by Eastern European composers Dvorak and Kodaly we celebrate the diversity of music available for duos and trios.

Terzetto Op74 for 2 violins & viola by Antonin Dvorak

“Le Londres” Trio for 2 violins and viola by Eugene Ysaye

Bagatelles Op75 for 2 violins & viola by Antonin Dvorak

Serenade op12 for 2 violins & viola by Zoltan Kodaly